Some people believe that it is good to share information in research, business and the academic world. Some others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that data in fields such as research, business and academic needs to be made available to anyone. However, others think that it is indiscretion to allow some valuable or sensitive information to be shared without restriction. From my point of view, important information should be only available to people who are responsible and able to handle it.

On one hand, data should not be withhold, especially something that affects the lives of many people and they have the right to know. In terms of human kind collective knowledge, the freely shared information will encourage people to constantly develop and enrich the world's wealth of knowledge. Hence, those pieces of information will benefit the whole society, not just a small group of people that discovered them. For example, the discovery of a new material that can reduce the strain on current natural resources will have a bigger impact on the globe if that material make-up is available to everyone, every country than when it is monopolized by only one firm or country.

On the other hand, it will be careless to let all pieces of sensitive information to be known by the general public. When considering important information like trade secrets, it will be detrimental to let everyone knows as it will reduce the producer's profit and discourage creativity and innovation in the process. If people cannot protect or benefit from their inventions, why they should ever put effort on them at all ? Furthermore, some sensitive information can fall in the hand of bad people. information on weapon research, genetic modification, for instance, will be the cause of great concern if terrorist groups can get their hand on them and use them against civilians.

In conclusion, while some information should be shared to better the society, it is crucial that sensitive and vital data be kept secure in the hand of the right people.