Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To which extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometime argued that people these days are being blessed with excessive number of options. However, I believe that we are being restricted in the number of choice we can make more than ever.

To begin with, our choices of career are being made narrower with the advent of automation. A person in the job market now find it harder than ever to get a job, let alone be able to choose according to preference. For instance, a graduate in the accounting major have limited options as to where he is going to work and what to work on as sophisticated machines are taking over a number of positions.

Further more, children also face much fewer choices in terms of recreation than before. With the development of tightly-packed cities, machines and the lack of open space, youngster have fewer activities to choose from. Instead, they can only immerse themselves in video games, television programs and cell phones.

Last but not least, the modern life allows us little time thus fewer options in every activity. The ever confining time offers modern people less time to do anything, we have fewer alternatives to what we may do in our free time as we have to live fast to catch up with the daily grind of the modern life.

In conclusion, the belief that we are now enjoying too many options is false. On the contrary, we are now have to do with fewer choices in all aspects of our daily life, adults and youngsters alike.