Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, whiles others think that zoos are for both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

Keeping animals in zoos has raised certain concern among the community whether it is a effective way to protect those wildlife species yet still bring entertaining and ecological benefits or it is an immoral method. In the scope of this essay, merits of both views will be throughly discussed.

On the one hand, having animals in the zoos definitely bring benefits to the animals as well as for the economy and educational system. Firstly, speaking from the conservative aspect, doing this can actually protect those creatures from extinction. It is prevalent in nature where thousands of species die out every day due to the shortage of food or proper care. For instance, there are some kinds of animals that are lack of nurturing skills and cannot take care of their off-spring carefully which is the main reason for the decline in the population. In this case, zoos with hundred of employees and experts in their field will help to maintain the health of these youngsters with specialized equipments and proper nutritional food at every developing stage to ensure the best condition for individuals. Secondly, as mentioned before, zoos employ large numbers of people and therefore create job opportunities and income for the area. The money raised can be use for conservation projects. Thirdly, zoos are not only fascinating and fun but also great visual tools for educational purpose. There is no better way to teach a child how to appreciate nature and wildlife than taking him to see the real creatures in their habitats.

On the other hand, those who consider zoos are wrong places to keep animals have their own points of views. It is obvious that zoos are artificial environments where wild species are constantly provided with food and eventually losing their instinct of predators . Thus, they might have to live in zoos forever and cannot make their ways to their initial societies. For example, a tiger which spent too much time in zoo might not know how to hunt for food due to the lack of teaching by his peers or his parents. In this way, he is likely to suffer higher chance of getting starving to death when he returns to his real habitat. Moreover keeping animals in cages is unethical. We have no right to use animals for entertainment or for the aim of making profit. Doing this will destroy and cause anxiety among these creatures. Imagine if we were kept in a box in a completely different society to where we suppose to be at with thousands of cameras and people pointing at us every single day, absolutely isolated from our peers, we would definitely go crazy one day.

In conclusion, the question of whether we should preserve animals in zoos or not still require a closer look from specialists as well as careful consideration of the government.