A rather delicate point of contention is whether publishers are free to provide private details about people. On the one side there is the free press crowd, which argues that freedom of expression is absolute for the print media. On the other side are those that argue less dogmatic and take into account the possibility that certain information could be harmful and should thus not be made publicly available. And indeed, I believe that the media has a special responsibility to only publish those details that are aboslutely necessary to advance the understanding or the credibility of a news story. Hence, it should always be seriously considered whether publishing personal details is absolutely required.

Is it really necessary to know whether the newly elected prime minister has had an affair with a young woman a year ago? And do we need to see the photographs of this woman all over the print media together with her address and what she is doing for a living? The answers to these questions are not necessarily straightforward, especially as I advocate for caution when publishing private details.

This example has actually emerged in recent news when it was revealed that the new british prime minister Boris Johnson was romantically involved with someone while in a relationship. This detail in itself should not be revealed to the public as it is a private matter for the various parties involved and there is no ‘public interest’ other than of a voyeuristic nature.

However, it came to light that this lady the prime minister was amoursly involved with, also was the recipient of a large sum of money for her business. This is where the context changes: what previously was an entirely private matter has now become a potential criminal act that must be investigated by the media. Hence, it is fully ethical to publish private details about the affair and the persons involved as it provides crucial context for how public money was spend.

In conclusion, private details can be published in situations where it advances or explains stories that are of truly public interest, but should be avoided if publishing only serves to satisfy some curiosity about someone’s lifestyle.