Nowadays, people are widely holding divergent opinions on whether which sources to search for information effectively. Some state that newspapers are an important source of knowledge and information, while those opposing to this prefer using media such as Facebook or Instagram as an information-provided tools rather than traditional sources like newspapers. This essay predominates the former idea and will make discussion about both points of view.

On the one hand, newspapers have been playing an important role on human knowledge-absorption since few decades. People widely believe on sources like newspaper because whether they are traditional ones or online versions, they always provide audience with reliable source of information which is solely authentic before being published to publicity. That is the reason why newspapers are considered to be favored over other types of source of knowledge. For instance, despite social media is an indispensable part of people’s ritual, they still rely mostly on newspaper such as BBC, The Guardian to obtain information.

On the other hand, media such as Facebook, Tweeter, or Instagram is particularly prevalent to teenagers to look for information and knowledge in the digital era. It is popular because a large amount of information is able to gather easily in the Internet with rapid connection, but there is no guarantee that this sort of information is reliable or not. Taking Vietnam as prime example, people take advantage of Facebook to give wrong ideas about the coronavirus breakout, and thus raises communities with concerns and hinders the authorities to control the toxic disease. And that is the major related reason why most people avoid using social media to gain information.

In conclusion, in spite of the widespread of social media on the Internet, most people still opt for newspapers as a reliable preference to gather information.