Task 2 The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing What are the reasons What are the impacts

It is widely observed that the traditional setting of enjoying meals with a family such as breakfasts or dinners is gradually on the brink of disappearance. I personally believe that the major cause is because of hectic schedules like work and study, resulting in some negative effects, namely loosening the bonds between family members and the heavy stress burdens on one’s shoulder. This essay will first give plausible explanations of this issue, and then make an analysis of its impacts.

Regarding reasons, the major reason which fades away this memorable tradition is the hustle and bustle of the city life, involving the pressure of intense workload and pursuing one’s career. First of all, it is reasonably understandable that students have to study diligently to receive high academic performances in order to meet some strict requirements of many global universities, and therefore, create their own opportunities to study abroad, leading to less time spent with families. Additionally, there is no room for doubt that as people are growing up, people have a strong tendency to concentrate on the work rather than having meals with family members. A survey conducted by Oxford University reveals that over 80% of grownups refuse to eat breakfasts together with their families due to their hectic timetables.

Of course, this problem poses a serious threat to each family in many aspects. Firstly, it is possible that the relationships between family members expectedly to be loosened by times. Because of several reasons above, people have less time to communicate or hold a conversation with a family member like their parents or siblings, not to mention rarely see each other, and thus, the bonds between them simply just distance away. Moreover, a higher level of stress is also witnessed in this particular situation. Taking Japan as a prime example, where 75% of its citizens spending a vast majority of their time on work are unable to have a proper dinner together with their families, and thus, experience a three-fold amount of anxiety compared to those who do not.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the busy schedule is the main reason for this situation, which consequently leads to some negative influences on a family.