It is thought by some that not all the felons should be imprisoned as a punishment. They claim that some minor criminals should oblige to work unremunerated for the community services. I am a strong advocate of this attitude. This essay will examine this by looking at the merits of this approach.

Firstly, obliging offenders to do hard tasks of local community can act as a preventive measurement. A person who commits pick-pocketing, for example, should not be considered a violent criminal to be sent to jail. It is beneficial for the society to hire them and have its work done without spending a penny. Thus, doing harsh civil works can to deter criminals and dissuade them from recommitting in the future.

Secondly, what is negative about sending minor criminals to jail is their acquaintance with other dangerous felons. For instance, consider a teenager who is imprisoned because of juvenile delinquencies and his cellmates might be a smuggler. It is the friendship they made causing the big trouble for the society. Therefore, forcing them to spend sometimes doing tasks without any recompense may benefit both the individual and the society.

However, some argue that all the criminals should be put in jail regardless of their offends. If the burglar be allowed to wander freely in the local community, he may commit another crime. They believe that this act of punishing them by just some forced labors will be ineffective. Hence, by imprisoning them the locale is more secure for the families.

As mentioned above, those who perpetrate petty crimes should not be chastised by imprisonment because they can benefit the society by doing civil tough tasks and also the prisons can provide a chance of acquaintance with other offences. I quibble that unsalaried labors can impede minor criminals not to re-offend. I hope that these preventive considerations will be effective and deter more felons in the foreseeable future.