It is believed by a fair number of people that considering one verdict of imprisoning for all criminals is ineffective.Many individuals claim that petty criminals should not be sent to the jail. I am a strong advocate of this attitude and think that the person who commits minor offences should be forced to do unsalaried work in the local communities. Analyzing the deterrent nature of this punishment and its benefit for the society will show this.

To begin with, what impedes criminals from recommitting a crime is the tough tasks of community services. For instance, consider a person who did pick-pocketing. If he is obliged to do difficult tasks like cleaning high-rise buildings, he will not repeat his offence in the future. Thus, as these public jobs are physically demanding, they can impede felons from re-offending.

Secondly, municipals' budgets can be saved as hard labors will be accomplished without spending a penny. As a matter of fact, the mayor should hire workers to perform the municipality labors in order to beautify the city. By forcing minor criminals do harsh works without receiving any payment, the mayor can save a great deal of money to be spent in other sectors. Therefore, what is crucial in this form of punishment is the benefit these offenders brings about for the society.

However, the proponents of the old trend of imprisoning all the criminals believe that prisons are considered to be a perfect chastisement for all offenders. Actually, the loneliness they felt in jails can redress their behavior. Furthermore, societies can be a safer place for families as they are not any felons wandering freely in the vicinity.

As mentioned aforesaid, the voluntary work of criminals in the community services not only deter criminals but also is beneficial for the society. I agree with this opinion because its merits outweighs its drawbacks. In conclusion, I hope that more suppressive laws will be passed to hinder more criminals from perpetrating further offences.