Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Literacy is inextricably interwoven with one’s capability of learning and pursuing their educational journey in the future. As the world is becoming more digitally integrated, stances are indicating that children’s reading ability can be acquired by utilizing technological advancements. However, some people are still partial to the traditional medium of learning which is using printed books and other materials. In this essay, both opinions will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion.

On the one hand, electronic books and digital learning materials hold a raft of benefits for preschoolers. One of the major advantages of studying online is that it can be interactive. To specify, since technological devices are integrated into this method of learning, children could utilize different applications with different functions to serve their learning purposes. For example, there has been a host of applications dedicated to teaching preschoolers how to learn the alphabet by using audio files and illustrative images. This might stimulate or enhance the imagination and multitasking skills of young learners, helping them to learn how to read faster. Furthermore, parental guidance and the use of applications like YouTube may stem the root for a new healthy online friendship, which can act as a unique learning motivation for offspring.

On the other hand, printed materials also have prominent upsides that online-based learning may lack. First of all, it has lower possibilities of damaging youngsters’ visions. It is undeniable that using technological gadgets might result in eyestrains or even poorer eyesights of children, therefore, one way to assuage the concern of parents in this regard is to use books and printed materials. What is more, it could be exemplified that in the past, notwithstanding the lack of state-of-the-art laptops or multifunction smartphones, many prominent figures of the era still managed to absorb a reservoir of knowledge through books and paper-based materials. By shedding light on this example, it is crystal clear that offline learning can be advantageous for children.

In conclusion, albeit digital interaction could be beneficial for the development of preschoolers’ literacy with different sources of learning, I am of the opinion that the positive facets of paper materials have eclipsed those of online learning. All things considered, it could be anticipated that the traditional way of learning will keep flourishing in the future.