Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether movies should solely serve as a mode of entertainment or they should also have educational value. It is true that most filmmakers now place much importance on the entertainment side of movies, but I firmly believe that those movies can also teach viewers many things in life.

On the one hand, the only role that movies play is to entertain movie-goers, according to some. The key rationale of this view is that people often go to a movie in order to have a good time or to have something to talk with their friends. Usually, this means that they expect movies to have a special sound and spectacular visual effects as well as famous actors. For example, “Aquaman” starred Jason Momoa as well as having many epic battles. Such elements became talking points of the movie’s fans for weeks on end.

However, it is over-simplified to say that the effects of the movie are only confined to entertaining its fans. Anyone who has watched “Aquaman” will probably learn many crucial lessons in life such as failures are the stepping stone to success, greatness can only be achieved with patience or we should stand up against wars and cruelty. Since these lessons are not taught or usually overlooked in the educational setting in most countries, movies can be an ideal vehicle to instill in people such positive thoughts and values.

In my view, I am convinced that as well as giving movie fans a chance to have fun, a truly successful movie is often able to connect with them on a deeper level. Take, for example, “Friends with benefits”, a big box-office hit in 2011. The movie successfully conveyed a thorny social issue among young adults in the US, which was about young adults avoiding serious relationships and overlooking the meaning of sex and friendships. The movie had a ripple effect on and was also a wake-up call for many young people in the country. I would say the same for many other great movies such as Love Rosie, 50 first dates or 500 days of Summer, all of those are successful without starring any popular movie actor or having any epic scene because they can teach us important lessons in life or raise awareness of existing problems that people avoid talking about.

In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that movies can be and should be both recreational and educational. It is predicted that moviemakers would pay more attention to making cinematic productions capable of connecting with viewers on a deeper level