Some people believe that overpopulation is the main problem.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

What are the causes of overpopulation?

As a consequence of constant growth in the amount of world population, the world has encountered several problems. Therefore, according to some, overpopulation is considered as the major issue. I personally agree with this statement since overpopulation causes severe problems in terms of environment as well as rise in unemployment.

In my view, overpopulation is the major issue that is concerned by the human race. One of the reasons why it is so serious is that this can contribute to adverse environmental problems. The majority of people are using natural resources and not eco-friendly factories along with cars, thus it can lead to the emission of harmful gases into the atmosphere. Another reason is that owing to the continued rise in population, there might be huge growth in unemployment. If the number of people, who are willing to work, exceeds that of the workplace available, those people may struggle to find an occupation. As a result of the joblessness, the rate of crime and theft may increase which can trigger certain barriers to people.

There are various factors why the world is being densely populated. Firstly, with the power of science and breakthroughs in technologies, medicine has been developed and modernized immensely, and this may allow the creation of medical treatments and cures for those even infected with serious illnesses. Therefore, it is possible to increase people's lifespan and treat them even though some new health issues might emerge. Secondly, there have been unprecedented improvements in agriculture which certainly lead to overpopulation. In recent years, varieties of techniques and methods have been implemented in terms of producing and harvesting food products that help to diminish the rate of starvation. For this reason, it is becoming available to provide sufficient food supply which causes to make people live longer.

In conclusion, the significant growth in the world population is caused by recent advances in the medical field and improvements in the agricultural sector. Unfortunately, this is a worrying trend which may cause severe drawbacks in the future if certain measures are not taken.