Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is strongly argued that the government should offer free tertiary education to all citizens in the country regardless of their financial conditions. In my opinion, I totally agree with this view.

Higher education should be free for a couple of reasons. One reason is that it may make huge contributions towards improving the living standard of lower classes in society. In other words, it will be easier for impoverished students who cannot afford such exorbitant university expenditure to have chance to get a qualification and apply for a well-paid job which requires a Bachelor’s degree.

Another reason is that such a policy of the higher education system can promote the development of the nation. Firstly, the more opportunities people get to study, the more qualified employees there are in the labour market. In addition, if a country can ensure a huge skilled/high-quality workforce, it will be more attractive to foreign investors/can draw foreign investors closer to them. As a result, the chance of approaching a significant foreign direct investment is foreseeable. For example, Samsung has invested in Vietnam for many years but they still need to bring their high-quality workers from Korea to Vietnam for management positions, which is a disadvantage of Vietnam in the eyes of investors.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that everyone has the right to get chances to pursue higher education without any consideration about their financial difficulties and the government should conduct it by totally subsidizing the tertiary education system.