Some people believe that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on environmental pollution and housing problems. To some extent do you agree or disagree?

The health of the general population is of great concern to many people. Some suggest that political leaders can safeguard their citizens by investing in resolving environmental and housing issues. In my opinion, this viewpoint is partly right because prevention of sicknesses should be initially come from the improvement in the medical industry.

It is understandably why some persons motivate the interference of governments in preservation of environment and control over the housing market. The former approach eliminates the impact of environmental factors on the public health. Policies in order to reducing of emission from vehicles and plants, decreasing carbon footprint, deploying eco-friendly energy sources and so forth, help alliviate impacts of pollution upon human’s general health. For instance, utilization of electric vehicles would cut use of fossil fuel, thereby lowering the amount of gas emission in the air which people may inhale. This in turn ameliorates risk of contracting illnesses related to people's respiratory system. Secondly, lack of accommodation is another culprit of many health problems among persons. If people are not able to afford living in houses, they would be prone to the weather changes such as rain, snow, heat. It is dangerous for the homeless as excessive exposure to these elements would gradually deteriorates the well-being and make their sicknesses become uncurable.

While the need to solve environmental negative effects and shortage of houses is underscored, degradation of the public health should receive immediate attention from the authorities. Even though government’s intervention in protecting the environment and housing market could curb the long-term impact of these problems on citizens, the need to improve public health seems more urgent. Given the advent of new medicines and treatments, millions of people are able to endure less pain and avoid deathly diseases such as HIV or cancers. Likewise, Government’s funding in medical sector could be harnessed to equip state-of-the-art machines, construct new hospitals and raise living standard of medical workers. Combination of the methods could resolve more pressing problem upon the health of many patients.

In sum, governments should combine their solutions to alliviate the drawbacks of healh issues on their inhabitants instead of intervening in pollution of the natural world and housing market.