Some people believe that punishment is the only purpose of prisons, while others believe that prisons exist for various reasons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since the ancient era, prisons generally have the role to punish criminals. Even now more people still believe that it is only functioned as punishment treatment. I partly agree with this assertion, while I also believe as the rest of people that jails could have diverse roles.

Prison are normally used as the treatment that limited criminals activities and put them into small cells. One aim of this treatment is for isolating them from normal and good citizens. Criminals could be judged by the crimes they committed, the judge would sentence them the term of imprisonment which they are deserved. For instance, the term usually could be 2-7days as the punishment for minor offenses to 10 years or even more to death as the punishment for grave crime. Furthermore, the limited freedom in a small cell would decrease criminals' aggression and loneliness usually are the most effective punishment for many people.

On the other hand, prisons are not only the punishment but we could take it as a sort of chance that have given to those criminals who have enough opportunities to become good. For justice, the judge sometimes could sentence a crime for who are not so sinful. For a extreme example, a father who have some starving children and stoled some foods from market. He did committed a crime, it is not a right way but the origin is good because he need feed his children and have no ways but stole. Then the cell could provide a chance to this type of people. In most jails today, while in jails, criminal could have job training and have part-time work to earn money which could guarantee the life after they are released.

In conclusion, the main purpose of prions would be punishment for criminals, but at the same time jails are also designed to consider their future life and give criminals a chance to change their mind.