Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members of society, others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of the role and function of education. While there are some arguments that education is supposed to fulfill individual aspirations, I am inclined towards the idea that it leads to people’s contribution to society.

There are some several reasons why education is considered to be essential to personal goals. Firstly, people heretofore can achieve recognition and respect by being well-educated. For example, many contestants in national academic competitions become renowned for their comprehensive knowledge. Secondly, education would offer people access to better job opportunities, thereby leading to higher salaries for their livings. To illustrate, young people who continue their studies beyond school level would get academic qualifications related to their areas of learning that are required for several professions.

Despite arguments above, I support the view that the purpose of education is to benefit society in various ways. First of all, people who receive decent education are likely to become essential for the working labour with skills and knowledge acquired. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having academic qualifications. Morever, education raise public awareness in many life aspects to help the commnunity. Take driving course as an example, it is vitually important to educate people properly before they start to drive, which would certainly reduce road accidents.

In conclusion, although personal ambitions could be achieved by schooling, it seems to me that the sole aim of education is to form a well-prepared generation to develop our society.