Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Other think parents needn’t do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some that it is not necessary for offspring to be told stories by their parents as they can do it on their own. In my opinion, however, that is a beneficial practice.

There are several reasons why children being told stories by adults could be considered unimportant. Firstly, parents are nowadays occupied with more assignments at work, which might lead to their lack of time for their family. If they still have to spend time reading stories to entertain their children, they couldn’t enjoy the little remaining hours to relax. Secondly, reading books or watching movies by themselves can offer children some certain benefits. This might encourage independent learning and develop better sense of language as they are challenged to understand words and film scenes at their own pace. In doing so, they must apply the knowledge that they have learnt in the classroom.

Despite the above arguments, I support the view that children should be told stories by their parents as it would contribute to a better relationship among family members. Parents would have more interactions with their children and chances to understand them. For example, by discussing about a story, children might show their reactions to anything they observe from their own perspectives. Parents, therefore, can get to know them and even help their offspring to gain awareness and get better attitude towards everything in life. As a result, parents could get their children’s respect and become a close friend to talk to. I personally believe that this is a necessary aspect of a close-knit family.

In conclusion, while it seems to me that it is more advantageous for parents and their children to enjoy stories together.