Some people think a country benefits from a large proportion of young university students, other think sending young people to universities only lead to graduate unemployment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of how university graduates contribute to their country. While there are some arguments that young people who enter universities just tend to become jobless, in my opinion, young university students would significantly benefit their nation.

There are several reasons for the rising unemployment rate among fresh university graduates. The main cause would be the lack of practical experience of work and essential skills such as teamwork and leadership. As many universities do not include job training programs in their curriculum, students will not be well-prepared for future jobs, which could therefore not meet the prerequisites of recruiters. Hence, this would lead to a complex situation, while companies are hopelessly searching for employees, graduates stay jobless.

Despite above arguments, I support the view that university students do wonders to their country. Firstly, young people after graduating will become essential for the working labour with acquired knowledge and relevant degree to their areas of study. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having academic qualifications. Secondly, a country may benefit from high percentage of the graduates as they are more likely to have greater awareness of basic law and morality than those who do not enter universities. Consequently, there would be less social problems, leading to higher standards of living.

In conclusion, while there are growing problems of unemployment amongst graduates, it seems to me that students continuing their studies beyond school level would be advantageous to their country.