Some people believe the purpose of education should be to help the individual to become useful to the society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People hold different views about what education should help students in the future. While some individuals argue that the utmost important quest for education is to assist people to become productive to the society, I wholeheartedly believe that helping learners to turn their dreams into reality is also a crucial mission.

On one hand, schools need to educate students to be community-minded people. In fact, after graduation, they are expected to join the labor force and start to make contribution to the national economy. Therefore, learners should be equipped with knowledge and skills of particular fields of their chosen occupations. For instance, we are living in digital era, so integrating computer science lessons to the curriculum helps students prepare for their work as IT engineers or programmers. Without educational support from schools, pupils will probably not be knowledgeable about the jobs they decide to take, which results in the low-quality workforce as well as the negative impact on the development of the country.

On the other hand, I strongly hold the view that education providers should assist learners to realize their ambitions. In my opinion, most students’ target is to have successful careers in the future. When individuals have steady progress in their life, they are more likely to contribute to the society. In other words, managing to pursue their ambitions means more productive citizens are made. In contrast, if education institutions do not support school boys and girls with their dreams, more students can experience a sense of demotivation that leads to the loss on society level and the future society will have less useful individuals.

In conclusion, the two important responsibilities for educational system, including preparing students to be productive to society and planning an ambition for them, play separate but complementary roles.