Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may believe that reading books is far more beneficial for kids than watching TV or playing video games. Personally, while there is some truth in the role of watching television and playing video games, I still support that reading books should be a priority.

On the one hand, watching television and playing computer games can be beneficial to a certain extent. Firstly, the visualized pictures being on TV and games enable kids to remember all events for a long time. This is because children are usually impressed by vivid images and sounds. Secondly, both watching TV and playing games are wonderful ways which help young people improve their mental health. For instance, if children watch an emotional family film, they will have a tendency of loving and sharing more with their parents and siblings.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I am convinced that reading stories from books is more vital. The first reason is that reading books can enhance the ability of kids’ imagination and creativity. This means that children have to use their imagination to visualize all events described in books, which eventually help them create their own thoughts and opinions in their minds. The second reason is that children can develop their verbal ability through books. For example, when reading stories, kids are exposed to a wide range of vocabulary and sentence structures, and therefore, reading books can provide great opportunities for children to advance their ability to describe things, which leads to better writing skill.

In conclusion, despite the mentioned advantages of watching television and playing computer games, reading books is far more significant down the road.