Some people believe that the salaries paid to professional sports people are too high, while others argue that sports salaries are fair.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is undoubted to say that sports is a multi-million-pound industry, people around the world flock to sporting events or watch their favourite teams faithfully on television. As a result, professional sports athletes receive huge salaries. There is some debate about whether such outrageously high salaries are justified.

On the first analysis, sports players do not provide such vital service for society as other jobs like doctors or teachers, so the fact that a football player can earn more money than a teacher is unreasonable. Doctors and teachers dedicate at least five or ten years of grueling education and internship; their work saves lives, produces the future citizens. However, professionals in the fields above usually struggle to make ends meet, despite their meaningful and critical contribution to society. It is not the end of the world without professional football. Hence, we should place a higher emphasis on professionals such as nurses and teachers.

On the other hand, those who believe that sports stars' pay are justified might argue that the number of professionals with real talent is very few, in which the top players should be paid well. Athletes train rigorously from an early age to become peak performers in their field. They face tremendous pressure in each and every game, match or competition and they even can be stalked by paparazzi. At the same time, their outstanding achievements bring honour and attention to not only themselves but also to their teams, schools, cities, or countries.

In my view, paying an enormous sum of money to sportspeople is superfluous. We need to reconsider our social priorities and reduce the disparity in income among professionals. By doing so, we can create societies where everyone feels valued, appreciated, and appropriately compensated for their own vocation or specialization.