The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the public authority should allocate more to clinical ventures instead of preserving our environment. However, I firmly accept that the government should also focus equally on saving our planet

On the first analysis, it is undoubted that medical research clearly contributes to the general improvement of the populace's wellbeing. Firstly, the first advantage of funding for clinical research is that it impacts human health enormously. Due to the appearance of significant increase of serious diseases: cancer, coronavirus,... which are lethal issues, conducting quality medical examinations should be funded to develop cures and precise diagnosis for illness. If it had not been for medical researches, humanity probably have faced and still struggled to combat various of infections that might actually cripple the well-being of human

On the other hand, spending money on the environment is a necessary part of protecting human health. We are facing many fatal diseases associated with the deterioration of the environment such as asthma and cancer. For instance, high levels of air and water contamination are leading to the increased number of cancer cases and deaths. The government can pass laws to protect the environment and enforce those laws. The government can adjust wastewater management by requiring industries to produce only acceptable amounts of specific toxic. The authorities could invest more in new-energy technologies to find better replacement to fossil fuels. This all allows people to reduce the air pollution on the Earth.

In conclusion, although medical research is certainly important and should be properly funded, I disagree that it should receive more money from the government than environmental protection.