Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views of whether homework should be given to children. While there are some strong arguments against this situation, I still believe that homework plays an important role in education.

Looking at the down sides, several reasons are made to explain why homework has laid an unnecessary burden in student's life. Firstly, doing homework is time-consuming. Without it, children will have more free time to attend various outdoor activities. As a result, students not only improve their health but also gain practical experiences. Secondly, no homework means no stress. The pressure of completing homework on time has led to lots of children in Asian countries staying up late. Finally, many parents would agree that school day is already long enough and children are too tired to do further study.

Despite the above disadvantages, I still consider homework to be more vital in the schooling of children. The main benefit is that it encourages oneself independence and problem solving in which students can learn to deal with difficult tasks alone. For instance, by doing math exercises at home, students will learn how to manage time and overcome difficulties by using reference books and various information from lessons at school. Therefore, they can widen their knowledge and increase their confidence before coming to class which will develop an independent study habit for future jobs.

In conclusion, homework has its pros and cons but, in my view, I strongly believe that the advantages will eventually outweigh the drawbacks in the long term.