Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while other feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Most people believe that sport should be compulsory for school children. however, others are opposing it. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now.

one the one hand, those who support the idea that sport is an essential part of children’s school life see that it has major benefits for children’s physical development. For instance, the sport could make children relax after they spent some time for studying. Furthermore, the proponent of school sport emphasizes the importance of team building in the sport such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be excellent preparation for adulthood. Finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today is fostered by sports at an early age. it is evident that many successful business people excelled in the sport at school.

On the other hand, the proponent of this view feel that school sport uses up children’s time, and it should be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, those who decline the idea see that it is unwise to force children to do activities that they have no interest in. after all, some youngsters are just not sporty and should be allowed to study instead. however, opponents of this idea are able to cite evidence of the controversy in the sports department, such as drugging and corruption scandals. they believe that this lack of morals conduct sets a poor example to young people.

Overall, it seems to me that sport should be not compulsory for school children because of the negative effect on their time outweighs the positive. this is as long as children are given a wide range to choose from, to ensure their interest is high, and that the sports industry itself maintains the highest standards of conduct.