Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether sport is thought to be a leisure pursuit. While some people approve of this suggestion, I firmly believe that sport has an enormous impact on the community.

On the one hand, many think that sport should be considered an optional task to do daily. To begin with, the initial reason why some people underestimate this kind of outdoor activity is the heavier importance of dealing with the financial burden. Given that most adults' time was spent on work to pay their bills, they find it hard to balance their lifestyles with any more doings let alone exercises. Consequently, sports seem less essential due to the fact that they may influence jobs and opportunities to make more money. Secondly, many people disparage sport thanks to a lack of information on the advantages sport can bring - increasing productivity, preventing disease, and lengthening our longevity. The sport’s depreciation will continue until they can access this knowledge.

On the other hand, sport acts as a positively contributing factor to the improvement of society’s healthcare and prosperity on the whole. According to an Oxford case study on obesity in the US, England, and Australia, the noticeable consumption of high-cholesterol food is posing a threat to the governments on the rise of cardiovascular and diabetic patients. As a result, it is urgent to encourage residents to go on a diet, especially bringing sport as a vital activity to improve their physical and mental health. Furthermore, sports festivals and events which are held yearly make plenty of economic contributions to many nations. People living in these countries will no longer be in fear of unemployment since there would be a large number of occupations given from tourism and commerce including sport.

In conclusion, many people disregard sport because they do not know the profits of playing sports in their lives. However, I side with those who value sports as one driver of societal development.