Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a heated debate about whether zoos should be abolished for treating animals cruelly. While many people approve of this suggestion, I hold a firm belief that zoos are making great contributions to wildlife conservation.

On the one hand, governments should close down zoos for the following reasons. Firstly, animals have rights just as humans do, and being kept in cramped cages is immoral. Animals have evolved from nature and each belongs to undisturbed habitats where they are left alone to live, breed and seek food. In contrast, when living in cages for a long time, they will lose natural instincts such as hunting, mating. Consequently, these animals may die if people release them to wildlife. Secondly, few zoos approach satisfactory standards for animals. They may suffer diseases, maltreatment including lacking in food and care. Thus animals’ physical and mental health are affected considerably, they become distressed and overly aggressive.

On the other hand, zoos in some way contribute advantageously to wildlife protection. They are useful for educational purposes. To be more specific, children are able to observe closely animals from many countries that they may never have a chance to see, as well as learn about the animal kingdom and the relation of them. As a result, zoos raise awareness of wildlife protection and people will have more sympathy for animals. Moreover, endangered species can be protected from potential dangers such as predators, hunters, poachers and extinction. Scientists nowadays are afforded valuable opportunities to study animals in strange environments, and draw conclusions about how we can affect their natural habitats, which therefore create breeding programmes to reduce the risk of extinction.

In conclusion, although zoos may treat animals inhumanely because of poor care and the lack of food, I still believe that they are all playing an important role in education and preservation.