Write a paragraph of about 180-220 words about the benefits and drawbacks of advertising.

I hold a firm belief that the benefits of advertising outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, advertising plays an indispensable role in our life. First and foremost, on the grounds that advertising provides a great deal of information, customers will be able to gain an insight into the products. To be more specific, they acquire the information about the products’ uses, functions, expiry date and promotions. Consequently, people can choose their favourite items that suit their pockets and demand. Furthermore, broadcasters will have opportunities to make a huge profit from advertising. Advertisments are usually published in the prime hours or intervals, so as to not only catch viewers’ attention but also make money for the government. On the other hand, advertising has some detrimental influences on people’s satisfaction and spending value of the products. One disadvantage is that advertising interrupt viewers’ emotions. To be more precise, while watching their favourite television programmes, watchers detest being distracted by sudden advertisments. Therfore, it creates annoyance which negatively affects products’ sales. Moreover, advertising may cause a waste of money. An explanation for this is that many commercials consist of celebrity endorsement in order to increase attractiveness. As a result, no matter how quality the products are, people can be easily swayed by the enticement of celebrity-collaborated advertising, leading to the fact that what they bought may not live up to their expectations.