Some are of the opinion that people are naturally born as good leaders while others feel that leadership skills can be learned. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a hotly-debated issue over whether some factors moulding an eminent leader ought to be determined at birth or leadership skills can be acquired. From my perspective, I completely agree that it is through considerable effort and real-life experience that enhance these skills.

There are two principal culprits why I hold a firm belief that everyone is capable of possessing fundamental leadership traits, with the aid of proper learning and training. The first and perhaps the most persuasive reason is that many educational institutions offer invaluable programmes relating to leadership skills. Specifically, working with other teammates in a group discussion, along with attaining knowledge from professionals in related domains will make it possible for people, especially youngsters, to maximise their potential. Consequently, they are likely to comprehend the way to make the most of their powers, understanding how to make decisions or deliver inspiring speeches. In addition, having a breadth of experience and understanding about varied fields is also considered as a prerequisite for characterising conscientious, persistent and courageous men in charge. In other words, the more hardships they encounter, the more eloquent and assertive a person they will become, since these exposure can hone their headship skills. Such in-depth expertise is the result of being cultivated through schooling and practical lessons.

However, some opponents may insist that innate personalities people are endowed with act as a more contributory factor to the formation of impeccable leaders. It is believed by a section of the public that certain people are born to be charismatic, extroverted and able to capture others’ attention effortlessly, thus placing them high on the agenda for chief positions by means of these natural characteristics. Apparently, this view is partly true; nevertheless, they fail to take into account the fact that not only natural features but the existing environment also has an enormous impact. As a matter of fact, communication skill, problem-solving skill and strategic intelligence required to be a head are not human instincts, on the grounds that these can only be derived from competitive working ambience, decision-making procedures and mistakes we have made and learn from them.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, it is my reaffirmation that the influence of learning and experiencing plays an indispensible role in fostering leadership capacity in every individual.