Some people think the main purpose of education is to make individuals useful to society while others say education helps them to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been heated debate about the vital goal of education. While I accept that education supports people to reach their own passion, I also believe schools make great profits to the whole society.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that education is an advantageous tool to reach personal ambitions. People have different preferences and perform the best when they are allowed to do what they enjoy. For example, if schools make an opportunity for students to specialize in the subject they like, they will be more dedicated in their future career and master their performances as professionals. In contrast, students will not be motivated in doing what they do not like, and it is a waste of time finishing their study.

On the other hand, education is responsible for enhancing a community's situation. To be more specific, educating people to help the society in the future is beneficial. For example, in today’s Covid-19 pandemic, the education of many doctors is considered useful as they cure infected people and invest in vaccines to protect them. Moreover, society also gains a great deal of advantages from the prosperity the graduates can make to the economy. Many proficient entrepreneurs tending to enlarge their countries’ market are looking for potential workforce and managers, which requires a suitable range of academic knowledge. Education in this case creates stable possibilities and attractiveness for people to enter these occupations.

In conclusion, although individuals should be given freedom to choose their profession, I personally think the benefits education gives to society is more important.