Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

It is true that scientists have been putting great efforts in educating citizens about healthy and harmful activities. Being able to distinguish those clearly as they might, many are still reluctant to make changes, culminating in sticking to them as long-lasting habits. In this essay, I will dig into some underlying causes and put forward viable measures to resolve this issue.

There are possibly two potential culprits why some people commit themselves to following the patterns that jeopardise their health. To begin with, it is the financial burden that triggers sedentary lifestyles among residents, especially adult workers. This is because they are held accountable for paying their expenses, thus forcing them to work on night shifts, much as it has detrimental impacts on their well-being. Another factor involves the seemingly bottomless appetite for food and drink, particularly for fast food. Thanks to the invasion of these savoury takeaway meals, many of all ages have been consuming them on an unprecedented scale, admitting that they lack nutritional substance as well as increase the risk of obesity.

Fortunately, some measures can be taken to address this toxic practice. First and foremost, the onus is on government officials to make cutbacks on working time and take pay rise for employees into consideration. For example, it is obligatory for all Japanese enterprises not to allow their employees to work on night shifts, which leads to the average human health of this country reaching top 4 of all nations, according to a 2019 study report from Melbourne University. Additionally, the authorities should respond to the problem of insatiable appetite by requiring fast food stores to list the number of calories on every food label. As a result, not only will consumers be knowledgeable of their daily intake, but they will also have plausible strategies to restrict nutritionally empty foods.

In conclusion, there are indeed various contributors regarding the negligence of residents to scientists’ precautions about unhealthy activities, yet, it can be solved once according actions are implemented imperatively.