Some people believe that studying literature is important for individual character building. While others think that it is a wastage of time. Discuss both the points and provide your opinion.

It is an undeniable truth that people are divided on the importance of study of literature. Some people hold the opinion that studying literature is significant for developing a person's personality, whereas others believe that it is fruitful to study literature. In this essay, I will analyze both the perspectives. I am in favour of the former notion due to valid reasons, which I will explicate in upcoming paragraphs.

There is a plethora of reasons why some people assert that it is very essential to study literature but the most preponderant one is that literature has cultural values. Cultures are built on stories and these stories form the literature. Historical stories illustrate how it would feel to live through famous battles, famines, times of prosperity and times of depression. For example, a book "Pinjar" by Amrita Pritam, can help everyone to understand what women had faced when India was going through the freedom struggle. Another predominant benefit of studying literature is that it expands one's circle of knowledge. When a person reads a piece of literature, he got to read about a life experience through the eyes of someone other than himself. He gets chance to walk in the shoes of a character whose life is different than his own. Such reading offers everyone an opportunity to feel the feeling of the characters described, allowing people to understand things through a fiction world.

On the other hand, it is opined by the group of experts that studying literature, such as poetry and prose is useless. Firstly, they say that studying the practical skills such as business and technical education is what needed in today's era. Today there is cut throat competition, and so students should not waste their time on study of literature. They should focus on subjects, which would help them to earn a better livelihood.

I personally believe that the study of literature is very necessary as literature expands one's vocabulary. The larger vocabulary is, the easier it would be to understand the other subjects also. The best way to become exposed to new words is to read. For example, any novel if a person read will include plenty of words which have heard before usage of those words in context, and they also learn their meanings passively and do not have to work hard on learning them.

To conclude, the study of literature is very essential even in the practical world of today. A person need to study literature to understand the world and its people better and also to develop vocabulary.