On vehicle-free day, private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned in the city centre while the public transport is permitted such as bicycles, buses and taxis. Do the benefits of vehicle-free day outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no shadow of doubt that people are becoming increasingly aware of the problems caused by vehicular pollution. As a result, in many cities, vehicle-free days are observed, when private vehicles are not allowed in the city centers on these days, only the public transport and bicycles are permissible. As per my opinion, the advantages of such measures are much more than their drawbacks.

As far as my viewpoint is concerned, there are numerous advantages of banning private vehicles from the city centers on certain days. The most preponderant one is that the pollution both noise and air, is drastically reduced. Use of public transport and no use of personally owned vehicles on some days causes less pollution of noise and sound, which can save the earth from noise pollution and one can hear voices of birds and various animals and can feel the nature. So it is better to use public vehicles rather than personal car to make an earth a better place to live. Most of the heat is generated due to vehicles, so it is imperative to tolerate some inconveniences and welcome such vehicle-free days.

Further reinforcing my viewpoint, another predominant merit is that there is lesser traffic in the city centers, thus making it safer and easier for those on foot and bicycles to commute. The chances of traffic jams are minimized, and thus the productive time wasted because of traffic congestion can actually be utilized at work. It has been found in a research that many people adopt public transport and use their personal vehicles less and less even on other days, when there is no such restriction.

Admittedly, there is a downside to banning private vehicles, in city centers. First, it affects the business and slows down the economy of that city. Secondly vehicle-free days are a waste of effort. A single odd day here and there can not solve the problem of pollution. Moreover, personal vehicles are extremely convenient, especially for medical emergencies or any kind of situation requiring quick response.

I believe that the positives of vehicle-free days outstrips the demerits. However, before taking such a major step, the authorities need to ensure that the public transit is comfortable, economical and convenient for the daily commuters. The government and individuals can together take initiatives at their own levels, to take such measures truly successful.

To conclude, it can be reiterated that the observance of vehicle-free days in city centers has more merits than downsides. Closing city centers to cars for even one day in a year would help people to address chronic problems like pollution by making switch to alternative transportation gradually.