Some people believe that tax on junk food should be risen. What is the purpose of this notion? What is the negative impact of this notion?

A notion to implement higher junk food tax is justifiable when the government will gain more revenue from this regulation. However, such tax burdened to consumer give negative impact for small companies, making them will be collapsed.

It is justifiable to burden a higher tax on junk food due to increasing government revenue. When people consume such food, they will be forced to add their budget to pay higher junk food tax which makes government get more money from those transactions. For instance, In 2020, Indonesian government rise the tax rate from 10% to 15% on consuming fast food, escalating the revenues 5% from junk food consumption in restaurants, equivalent with 100 millions rupiah . Therefore, more revenues collected thorough such regulation can be used to finance the country's development like constructing public infrastructure in remote areas in Indonesia

In contrast, charging higher tax on junk food consumption tend to make Micro, Small, Medium Enterprises collapse. Since the government implements such tax, the consumer shifts their preference from MSME to larger restaurants which tend to be unaffected with such tax, making MSME's revenue drops dramatically. In example, when Malaysian government burdened such progressive consumption tax, the income collected by the MSME felt down from 1 million ringgit to 300 thousand ringgit, causing them unpaid their staff salaries and other operational expenses during 2019 period. This condition makes small business owners are forced to close their restaurants and many people who work in such business will lose their jobs.

In conclusion, although the government may collect more money from the regulation, small companies will have a financial distress. Therefore, the viable solution to decrease negative effect from such conditions is giving different tax rates between small companies and corporations.