Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think that it has made him less social. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People have different views about whether or not technology has caused humans to be more or less social. This essay examines both stance and gives my personal thoughts on the issue.

It is true that technology has caused man to be more social because individuals can now communicate easily with each other, in spite of long distances between them. Gone are the days where a person has to travel from one place to another just to deliver a message or letter. With the advent of smart phone internet gadgets and computers, within seconds, an individual can send messages and recieve emails discussing any issue via smart technology. For example, I am able to have a video link conference in Nigeria with friends in Japan, without having to travel there. Consequently, this has created ease and comfort in my communication and has encouraged my active participation in the social world.

However, despite the easy connection with other people as a result of internet technology, this has made man practice a lot more self- isolation. Many persons now take advantage of technological advances that they rather stay indoors and communicate than come out to socialise with the world. Further more, they argue that it is less stressful and saves time, thus, not realising it creates more time in isolating themselves from the world, which can have detrimental effects on their well being.

In conclusion, although, some might argue that technology has created more self-isolation for man, thus, making man less social. I subscribe to the belief that technology has made humans much more social because of the ease in long distance communication it has created.