News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The individuals who make the decision on what to show on television and display on newspapers are the news editors. This essay will discuss several issues, such as the principal factors that influence the decisions of news editors in broadcasting certain news, whether or not we should embrace the ideology of negative news being reported as a normal thing or the idea that we welcome more positive news to be reported by the media news editors.

One of the major factors that influence news editors decision is the popular nature of the incident, for instance when a particular situation becomes a global phenomenon. As a result, this will attract the attention of news editors because of the worlds interest and will ultimately influence their minds to broadcast the global issues arising on their media platform, that is the television and in the newspapers.

Admittedly, many news editors believe showcasing bad news in their news channels and print media will attract more audience, so they make it a habit. Consequently, the society is constantly being exposed to negative news. This, however is not the proper way to gain followers and popularity. In addition, the public should not see bad news as something normal because it can create confusion and unrest in the society.

To sum up, it is better and crucial for the new editors to select and report good news because it would create a positive image for the society. For instance, broadcasting positive news such as low level of crime, new scientific discoveries and so on, this will invariably attract foreign investments and tourists, hence the benefit of a good societal image.