Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are several ways to reduce crime and to reform the offender. In my opinion we should make punishment fit the crime. We should use punishment as a mean of a deterrent and the wrongdoers should be the subject to the principle " an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth".Those who steal things from others should be deprived of their own property. Those who attack others corporal punishment sbould be used. And those who kill others the death penalty should be used.

But other people believe that these methods are unreasonable , cruel and barbaric and that we should show more humane attitude and make the society understands why a person commits a crime and help him or her to REHABILITATE and make an offender a useful member of the community which means to help him to lead the law-abiding life.

Long sentence can assist the offenders to recognize their fault. Psicologists who work with prisoners while their prison tern can make an offender understand his fault and rehabilitate by himself. But in my point of view it wouldnt help, if the offender was a murderer who commited an armed robery for instance.

We should give the offender a chance to be understood by the society. A lot of offenders become murderers , thiefs, burglars, shoplifters because of a bad upbringing.

A strict upbringing by over-caring parents can encourage rebelliousness against school, parents and authority and can lead to jevenile delinquency with youths joining gangs and become violent . Or conversly children whose parents think it is good to be allowed to run wild without control or supervision usualy end up in the courts.