Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishments.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that certain punishments should be established for different type of crime. While this policy might have enormous positive effect, I would argue that the authorities should sometimes consider the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it when proposing the punishment.

On the one hand, there might have two positive impacts when the government introduce fixed punishments for crime. Firstly, it would be easier for the law workers to make judgment and propose punishment as they have a certain base of law. Secondly, with this fixed punishment, the law system could avoid bias towards specific crime and then, make more right decisions. As a result, it would limit the number of crime committed as people bear in their mind that they would certainly be punished severely based on the fixed law.

On the other hand, there are several opinions against this fix punishment, that is, considering the circumstances and motivation when it comes to punishment decisions. While some argue those factors should always be taken into account, I strongly claim that it should depend on specific context. Those elements could be put into practice in the case that crime was unfortunately committed by someone trying to defend themselves or the crime scene could be set up, for example. Moreover, it might be also the case if there is lack of reliable evidence, for instance, no one had the chance to witness that crime.

In conclusion, despite the fact that fixed punishment for each type of crime could be useful for some cases, circumstances and motivations should sometimes be taken into consideration before making final punishment.