Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether to punish all kinds of criminal offenders with fixed circumstances. In my opinion, I believe that the criminals should be sentenced differently, according to their motivation and the extent to the damages.

There are several advantages to carry out fixed punishments, as it is a fair measure to everyone one because the punishments would not change by different people. For example, in China, the laws have been set out by the National People’s Congress and if people who have broken the laws, they would be punished by the laws without any changing. As a result, the offenders would get same punishments regardless their reasons for crimes.

Others, conversely, argue that society should distinguish the criminals by their motivations because some people who do something wrong for some reasonable things. For example, one who has stolen a piece of bread may just want to save his dying nephew’s life, which is a famous story written by Victor Hugo, so his purpose was not so bad and without his crime another one would die. By that I mean, not all the criminals have same reasons, so we can not judge their behaviors rarely depend on the recorded lows, and they should be punished after judging their motivations. By doing this, not only can should the balance stroke by the laws but also punish the people who do extremely bad things in a severe way.

To conclude, both views have their own reasons and examples and for my part, I firmly believe that people should be punished separately, distinguished by the certain cases.