Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that although the criminals have been sentenced, they would re-crime after releasing. There are several reasons for that phenomenon and a lot of solutions can be taken to solve this problem.

When it comes to the reasons for that, several aspects can be considered. Firstly, some newly released prisoners have urgency to get money, requiring a large amount of money immediately, such as the illness, but they do not have any saving in the bank which makes the step back to be a robber or thief. Secondly, the financial crimes often lack skills such as accounting skill, computer skill, so it is hard for them to get employed and earn their own living without any training. Finally, for some criminal offenders who were sentenced for financial issues regard breaking-law behaviours as their job, so they are lured by the profits earned illegally.

In terms of solving this problem, some measures are come up with. The government should give the people who do not have certain skill a chance to receive short term training in order to learn skills. By that, they can find some simple jobs, such as taxi drivers or shop keepers, which can afford their daily uses. One the other hand, the high intelligent criminals should be observed more strictly although they have been released. If necessary, the laws even should be update according to their abnormal behaviours.

In conclusion, re-offending is caused by many reasons, and this bad issue can be tackled by a variety of measures.