Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Crimes have always been a haunting for humanity since time immemorial. Criminologists concur on the fact that the penalty awarded for every crime committed must be equal. However, there are some who argue that the conditions of an individual crime and the inspiration behind the conduct of such an act should be taken into account when deciding on the punishment for the offence. This essay discusses both views and arrives at an opinion.

Proponents of one-punishment-for-all say that same punishment should be levied on all offenders disregarding the causes behind it. If at all such a norm come into being implemented, then there would be a drastic decrease in the number of criminal activities. For example, if beheading is the punishment to be awarded to the wrongdoers then the country would be devoid of crime. Hence, same punishment for all categories of crime can bring down criminal activities.

However, there are some legal authorities who argue that a thorough investigation should be conducted before deciding on the punishment. A crime may be done not based on intention but based on human instinct for self-defence. For example, when a man attempts to harras a woman, on impulse the woman might jab a knife at him to protect herself. In this regard, all crimes must be thoroughly studied and then levy the punishment.

In conclusion, although supporters of single punishment for all sorts of crime are strong in that stance, at the same time the background history of the crime must be looked into. Hence, I support the need for an absolute investigation to thoroughly comprehend the motive behind a crime.