Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Arts like painting, music and sculpture are important elements of the cultural life of a country. Art enthusiasts argue that government patronage must be extended generously to those who contribute in this field, while critics believe that fund and help can be sought elsewhere. This essay, however, discusses both propositions and arrives at an opinion.

Art lovers and artists themselves say that the government has the responsibility to encourage artists through adequate funding, because creation of art works is costlier than ever before. Keeping the artistic traditions alive is part of the agenda for many nations today. It is argued that even the ancient kings and emperors took time and found money to patronize the artists of their time. The Mughal emperors, for instance, employed court poets, historians and musicians to entertain members of the palace as well as the royal guests. Therefore, governments must bear the cost of keeping arts alive.

On the other hand, spokespersons of private participation believe that art can be patronized by wealthy individuals or organisations. This tradition had been in vogue in many nations sometime in the past. In this situation governments can concentrate more on the much needed infrastructure development and welfare schemes. The wealthy lords and ladies of the medieval age, for example, housed and hosted many a brilliant artist, because of their unquestioned interest in art, an act which produced classics and renowned pieces of art. Thus, art can be encouraged by rich persons.

In conclusion, the government must do everything possible including funding to encourage art and artists, although private individuals can complement the efforts the authorities in this regard. No art must suffer from stagnation or retardation for want of money.