Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertisement and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree?

The proliferation of adverts on various goods have given the public the awareness of products on sale or yet to be launched. Though such advertisements are needed for making consumers aware of the launch of products, I believe that commercials provide false hope to customers, inevitably misleading them.

Firstly, advertisements mainly television adverts use the power of propaganda to captivate the eyes of the public using special strategies like appointing a good looking model to a jewellery product using high-end graphic techniques to further enhance the quality of the product making it more vivid and beauteous. Hence, in this regard, advertisements control the perception of the customers which results in the purchase of the product.

Secondly, a major number of the products that are aggrandized contain a lot of misleading information. For instance, Patanjali make tall claims of the various health benefits of their products. But, in actuality, if these products are tested then such highly far-fetched claims will be washed away. Thus, advertisements provide false misconceptions lurimg people to purchase more.

In conclusion, rather than emphasizing on the needs of the society, adverts look to increase sales by strategic use of technology and propagating deceiving truths. An equilibrium must be maintained on supply and demand in order to avoid an economic downfall. It is hoped that, all future commercials will look into the needs of the buyers and maintain consumer harmony.