In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

Correlation between equal opportunities and individual success has attracted the attention of political and social scientists of late. Some of them argue that socialist political system is conducive for successful ventures. However, others point out that individual freedom of action is the key to excellence in life. Although equality is part of the buzz, I believe it does not promote success, because it does not encourage competition and discourages hard work.

People embrace success when competition is encouraged. In socialist societies, where "equality" is the watchword, everybody is given the same opportunities to perform. Everyone is working at the same pace, because even if they produce more, they are not going to benefit from it. For example, in the defunct U.S.S.R, despite the initial economic boom, people had a bitter taste of poverty and scarcity of essential commodities. This is one of the two reasons why I believe equality is not a precursor to personal achievement.

Moreover, in socialist cultures nobody is encouraged to put in their best efforts. There a worker gets their wages in proportion to the number of members in their family, and not in relation to the amount of work they do. Thus, people get their allowance regardless of what they do. For instance, a doctor with two children would draw the same salary as a police constable with the same number of children. In this way success is quite elusive in socialist countries.

In conclusion, socialist societies do not believe in encouraging competition and hard work, which are the two important ingredients that contribute to success. Therefore, I believe equality does not create suitable environment for individual achievement. It is the duty of governments to encourage people to succeed even at the expense of equality.