Shopping has become a favourable pastime among young people. Do you think they must be encouraged to do other things rather than shopping?

In a world where consumerism prevails, the excessive want for more goods has become a common trend among youngsters without giving a second thought for its importance. Going to huge malls and lavishly spending on items have become a hobby of sorts among young people. I believe that, rather than doing reckless spending, parents and teachers must motivate the current generation of people to do productive activities like reading and doing chores.

It is often said that those who read are bound to achieve great feats in life. The youth must be inspired of the benefits of reading and must make it a hobby. A person who persuses books of various subjects will not only help him garener knowledge, but also will make him an exquite writer and a remarkable orater. Hence, youngsters must spend most of their freetime accumulating as much knowledge as possible.

Doing chores can make one more efficient and responsible in life. A person who is always idel without doing any sort of activity, will only dull the cognitive thought process and that same time will also will make that person inefficacious. For example household activities like going to the grocery store or watering the plants are works that will build characteristics that of responsibility and helpfulness.

In conclusion, young people actively partaking in productive activities like reading or doing household works can develop an all-round personality. This is beneficial for both the society as well to the individual. So it is hoped that teachers and parents well encourage the younger generation to spend their time wisely.