Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay any tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people contend that the wealth they earn should not be taxed. However, for any country in the world, tax plays the fundamental role in the normal operation of modern society. Thus, I completely disagree with the statement.

Firstly, various government departments at all levels are the key factors to maintain the stability of the society. For example, the police office, which is the most important strength to keep the public safe, rely on the money collected through tax to pay its staff's monthly salaries. If individuals refuse to pay taxes, the police departments may have to shut down, and thereby causing the commotion of the society.

In addition, the tax has always made a contribution to the construction of some fundamental infrastructures, including highways, tunnels and bridges. Such facilities boost the efficiency of economic development, as people can travel longer distance to discover more business opportunities. For example, without the support of the tax, there is no chance that China has experienced a skyrocketing growth in the past decades.

However, the government should be vigilant about the tax rate. If the public are subject to high taxes, they may lose their motivation to work harder and achieve more. As a consequence, the development of the country may be stagnant and the overall tax revenue will finally decrease over time.

Summing up, tax, which is collected from ordinary people, acts as the fundamental strength to sustain social security and advance economy, although addressing excessive tax pressure on the public may a counterproductive outcome. Therefore, the government should figure out proper tax rates towards different people and different products, and thereby mitigating some people's fear about high taxes.