Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay any tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people complain that tax is a heavy burden because it reduces their disposable income. However, I would argue that paying tax is necessary and without tax, the society cannot function appropriately.

First of all, the government can only finance public facilities projects, including roads, schools, and hospitals, if it has tax revenue. A great public transport system is important because without it, commuting to and from work would be hard and efficiency would suffer due to traffic congestion. Besides, public schools provide children with education opportunities, allowing them to gain knowledge, which is beneficial to the economy. These public projects are normally unable to gain financial support from the private sector owing to their low profit margins and hence government funds are of great significance.

Secondly, the government can regulate people’s behaviours by levying taxes, especially those who fail to show self-restraint and to break bad habits. For example, imposing high taxes on cigarettes and alcohol can discourage people from consuming such products. As a result, people would be healthier and visit the hospital less, alleviating the stress on the medical system.

However, high taxes do have some disadvantages. People will have no incentive to work hard and entrepreneurs will not be motivated to set up businesses, thinking that they are not allowed to keep all the money they earn. Money is an important motivator for many since people can improve their living standards and gain a sense of accomplishment with it. It is impossible for a country to become prosperous and for its welfare system to sustain if its citizens do not work hard and show their talents.

In a nutshell, I am convinced that tax is the lifeblood of a country’s economy, although too high a tax rate would have some negative effects on the economy.