Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, high school programs are assumed to be better if including unpaid community service as a compulsory part. While I accept that the unpaid community service certainly brings several advantages to students as well as the community, I would argue that it should not be compulsory because of some reasons.

To begin with, unpaid community service would definitely provide benefits for both students and the community. Firstly, since the community service includes physical activities, the youth can keep fit and stay healthy. As a result, they will have more energy to deal with homework pressure. If they do not take part in any unpaid community service, their concentration ability in studying could decrease due to poor health. Secondly, unpaid community service also requires several skills such as communication skill, negotiation skill, which enables youngsters to learn those necessary skills through practical situations. Consequently, students can take comprehensive development.

However, unpaid community service as a compulsory part of high school program also shows its negative side. First and foremost, there are a great number of students who want to take part in a physical training such as football match or badminton math rather than participating in an unpaid community service. This might negatively affect their attitudes and prevent them from improving their talents. In addition, the entrance exam for an undergraduate degree is important, so the young should focus on academic lessons rather than spending their time to take part in unpaid community service. If they do not concentrate on major subjects such as math, physic, they could receive a low grade on the entrance exam, which might reduce their opportunities to study in reputed universities.

In summary, while I agree that there are several advantages the unpaid community service provides to students as well as the community, I disagree with the idea that it should be a compulsory part of high school curriculums.