Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, education has always been one of the most crucial factors contributing to the development of a nation. As a consequence, there has been many opinions about whether school curricula should be altered to include some community-based activities. This essay will outline some possible reasons for why this is an innovative proposal and finally introduce my own view.

First and foremost, community services help students realise some special values and qualities that cannot be conveyed through traditional subjects. For example, only by working for a charity could students be aware how lucky they are to have such good conditions and proper education, and as a result, they will grow a better sense of empathy. What is more, working to improve the conditions of the place where they live and grow up or teaching young children would be a great way to develop mutual care and understanding, enabling students to discover more interesting aspects of life - something that an overly-academic school could never accomplish.

However, there are some people who are against the inclusion of such communal activities, on the grounds that they are afraid of their interference with traditional school subjects. It is their point of view that those such as maths, English and IT are more necessary in the long run and are inevitable if they want to succeed in their workplace. Activities for the community should be, instead, allocated outside school curriculum under parental guidance.

In conclusion, despite some disadvantages it may brings, a curriculum with community-based services will ensure a more comprehensive development for students, especially in the aspect of social life. I hold the belief that this will be a great improvement for a currently over-theoretical program in high schools.