Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

As our society develops at an astonishing rate, apart from some huge innovations greatly benefiting our lives, some serious problems also arise. One of them, undoubtedly, is the fact that people are not really aware of the importance of recycling, especially in protecting the environment. Therefore, many people suggest that passing a law which forces them to recycle their waste would be an effective solution and I partially agree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, the introduction of some policies requiring citizens to increase their recycling activities would exert a huge impact on the current situation. In many households, despite knowing the necessity, people usually do not care much about how to recycle their waste, or just do it unwillingly. Such laws would increase the participation of many households since they are scared of the punishment they may have to face when not following the rules. Moreover, tightening the regulations would gradually form a habit among people to recycle more of their waste, and maybe in the near future, it will be maintained without the need for such laws, contributing to a better environment.

On the other hand, it must be acknowledged that using strict policies is not always the best solution, and that there are a host of other measures which could be carried out. Teaching students about the crucial role of recycling is likely to be the most reasonable initiatives, since the problem would be solved from its very core. In simpler terms, we will create a generation whose awareness has been raised from a very young age, and they will not underestimate the seriousness of the issue. As a consequence, people will be more willing to recycle more of their household waste, meaning that our environment would be significantly improved.

To sum up, although enforcing new laws to ensure a certain level of recycling is of great necessity, there are a wide range of other methods which could be combined to actively encourage people to recycle more. It is my belief that if we can flexibly put all these measures into practice, then it will not be as alarming a problem as it is now.