Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be forced to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory volunteering. Perhaps the principal benefit is that teenage boys and girls can develop skills that will be invaluable in their studies and future career, which means that they can gain a sense of responsibility as well as social skills. To be more specific, not only can students strengthen social bonds, but they are able to feel a sense of belonging. In addition, those who have experiences of volunteering are more likely to find employment opportunities with greater ease given that a multitude of companies have a predisposition to hire employees who are able to empathise with others. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of mandatory voluntary activities.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the youth often experience high levels of stress because devotion to volunteering often deprives young people of a chance to participate in leisure activities that help them unwind. Furthermore, being compelled to partake in volunteering exerts a negative influence on students' academic performance. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for mandatory community service, adolescents would spend a huge amount of time in revising for the exam. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.