Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that high school students should be required to offer volunteer service for society. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion because while undertaking voluntary work can bring about numerous advantages, these activities should not be made mandatory for all students in high schools.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to say that offering community service for free is beneficial. Firstly, these activities can allow students to develop some practical skills. To illustrate this point, some high school students often take part in cleaning the parks so that they can improve teamwork skills as well as classifying different types of garbage skills. Secondly, voluntary work helps these students have a sense of responsibility. For instance, students who take care of the disabled can be aware of the necessity to help other people; therefore, these students might be willing to participate in other unpaid community service. This will make these individuals better citizens and strengthen connections among members of society.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why students in 10th to 12th grade should not be forced to do voluntary work as a section of their curriculum. One of the primary reasons is that because these students are under pressure of their heavy school curriculum, doing voluntary work such as working for a charity or teaching English to impoverished students may lead to students’ stress and poor academic performance. Furthermore, requiring community service might defeat the purpose of volunteering. If these students are forced to participate in voluntary work, they will do it without any effort and satisfaction. Consequently, this may lead to their negative attitude towards helping others.

In conclusion, I believe that voluntary work can be beneficial for high school students. However, it should not be obligatory because these individuals are too busy with their studies and it might go against the purpose of volunteering.